Article by: Hazel Marion

Feeling bored because you can’t go anywhere or do anything? Don’t have anyone to hang out with besides your family? The best solution for this is to start a great book! Books can take you into a completely new world, and you’ll forget about being bored in a second. Here are ten amazing fantasy and dystopian series to get you started!

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

If you’re interested in dystopian fiction, The Hunger Games is the place to start. In the futuristic nation of Panem, 24 children ages 12-18 are chosen each year to fight to the death in the Hunger Games. The series follows Katniss Everdeen’s journey after she volunteers to take the place of her sister in the Games. But what started out for Katniss as a fight to save her own life turns into a fight to save everyone she loves. 

Entire Series

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

In another futuristic dystopian thriller, society is divided into 5 factions, which everyone must choose after finishing school. Divergent follows young Beatrice Prior and the challenges she faces when choosing her faction. Beatrice learns how she is different from the rest of society, and how this difference can jeopardize her future. 

Entire Series

3. Legend by Marie Lu

In Los Angeles, after it has been destroyed by floods, June Iparis is a fifteen-year-old prodigy, darling of the Republic’s military. Day is also fifteen, but the most wanted criminal in all of the Republic. Coming from completely different backgrounds, June and Day are never meant to cross paths, until a startling series of events draws them together. June and Day must learn to trust each other and fight their common enemy: the Republic’s mangled government system. 




Rebel (only available with purchase)

4. Warcross by Marie Lu

Set in a future world consumed by technology, the Warcross duology follows young bounty hunter Emika Chen, an expert hacker living in Los Angeles. Emika is poor and no one knows of her talent until she accidentally hacks into the opening ceremony of the biggest virtual game competition, Warcross. The inventor of Warcross, Hideo Tanaka, whisks Emika off to his headquarters in Japan to work as an undercover hacker for the competition, and Emika is immersed in the world of gamers and hackers, some who are enemies to Hideo’s company.


Wildcard (need to download)

5. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

You’ve probably already heard of this one at some point or even seen the movies, so why not give it a read? Harry Potter is a young orphan wizard, living with his non-magic aunt and uncle, when Hagrid, a giant, comes to take him to Hogwarts. Harry’s parents were wizards and students at Hogwarts, the school for witches and wizards, but they were killed by the Dark Lord, Voldemort. Harry experiences joy and loss throughout his journey at Hogwarts, making wonderful friends, and eventually has to help save the wizarding world from the evil Voldemort. 

The Sorcerer’s Stone

The Chamber of Secrets

The Prisoner of Azkaban

The Goblet of Fire

The Order of the Phoenix

The Half-Blood Prince

The Deathly Hallows

6. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

A classic fantasy novel, The Lord of the Rings revolves around the journey of a young hobbit, Frodo Baggins, to save Middle Earth from the evil lord Sauron. Frodo must destroy Sauron’s ring of power to free Middle Earth from his grasp. Along with his hobbit friends Sam, Merry, and Pippin; his wizard friend, Gandalf; and a mysterious Ranger called Strider, Frodo leaves his home in the Shire and sets off to Mordor, the dwelling place of Sauron. Frodo encounters more friends and enemies in his quest that will be crucial in saving his home and all of Middle Earth.

Entire Series (including The Hobbit, a prequel)

7. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

A fantasy series based on gifted children and adults, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children follows Jacob Portman, a young boy who assumes he is a normal. However, Jacob’s grandfather, Abe, has told him many tales about his life, living in a home with peculiar children. Before Abe is killed by a mysterious monster, he tells Jacob to go to the children’s home he stayed at. Jacob sets off on a daring adventure that will answer questions about his mysterious grandfather and leave him with many more unanswered questions about the strange world he is introduced to. 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hollow City

Library of Souls

Map of Days (only available with purchase)

The Conference of the Birds (only available with purchase)

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

In the mysterious world of Narnia, creatures exist never before seen on this earth. From satyrs to minotaurs and talking lions to giant mice, Narnia is a magical land filled with amazing magical wonders. The Chronicles of Narnia tells the tales of different adventures that take place in Narnia, often focused around the Pevensie children, ordinary children from London who find themselves whisked off to Narnia. The Pevensie’s will befriend some magical creatures and have to save Narnia from other evil creatures. 

The Magician’s Nephew (6)

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (1)

The Horse and His Boy (5)

Prince Caspian (2)

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (3)

The Silver Chair (4)

The Last Battle (7)

Note: This is the chronological order of the book series. The publishing order is the number listed in parentheses after the title of each book. The series can be read in either order; however, I prefer the chronological order.  

9. The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

The Inheritance Cycle is a fantasy series consisting of four books set in the world of Alagaesia, a land of elves, dwarves, dragons, and humans. The story follows the adventures of Eragon, a young human who finds a dragon egg in the woods one day. The egg hatches and Eragon finds himself paired with the dragon, named Saphira. Eragon is then swept up into the corruption of Alagaesia and sets off to save the land from the evil king, Galbatorix.